Meet the Team - Huba Hazos

Company News

How did your career in the lubricants industry begin?
I studied Chemical Engineering at the Metropolitan University of Caracas in Venezuela. My dissertation looked at improving the manufacturing capacities of an existing lubricant manufacturer. This gave me a great introduction to the lubricant industry and I knew it was an area I wanted to work in. I followed this up with a Masters at Warwick University, where I furthered my interest in the lubricant sector.

How long have you worked at ROCOL and what attracted you to the company?
I’ve now been with ROCOL for 15 years. Until I joined the company, I didn’t know much about it. I love that I am working closely with the end-user of the products and that I can be so involved with the different industries I work within. I get to visit companies, recommend improvements and help solve issues.

What are your favourite parts of your role?
Helping customers improve their processes using the knowledge that I have built up through years in the industry is always incredibly satisfying. Also, the environment that our products work in is constantly changing. This means I have to adapt to new challenges and think outside the box.

Also, I always enjoy the interaction I have with my ROCOL colleagues. It’s a great team to be part of and the collaboration between us is always fantastic.

How do you spend your time outside work?
I am married and have two children; my son is 13 and my daughter is 11. Most of my time outside of work is spent with them. We always try to do as much as we can outdoors, hiking and spending time in nature.

When we can, we love to travel. I’m very lucky to have travelled around the world from a fairly young age with my parents. I went to Greece with them when I was around my son’s age and I would love to take the kids there so they can experience the country for themselves.

A trip that stands out for me is our honeymoon. We had a fantastic time exploring Machu Picchu, it was a truly special trip.

Share one fact that your colleagues wouldn’t know about you.
I enjoy designing and making things such as lamps and pieces of art from wood. The process of taking a design and step by step turning it into a finished product is fascinating to me and something that gives me a lot of pleasure.

Also, I am a certified PADI scuba diver. Growing up in Venezuela there were plenty of opportunities to go to the beach and dive in the Caribbean ocean. Sadly, I haven’t been able to go diving for some time now, but I am planning a trip for the summer with the kids so that we can all dive together.

Copyright © ROCOL 2024 - All rights reserved. Cookie settings